HDHomeRun Quattro losing network packets

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
RogueWarrior
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:36 pm

HDHomeRun Quattro losing network packets

Post by RogueWarrior » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:03 am

Hello,

I am using WMC on Windows 10. On every show, I get two to four stutters in my recodings. I asked what I should do and the guys at WMC said to try the Quattro test described here:

https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... acket_loss

I ran that test for an hour and this was the results:

5271634 packets received, 78198 overflow errors, 10 network errors, 0 transport errors, 0 sequence errors

The HTPC and the Quattro are BOTH wired to a gigabit switch which is wired to my whole house gigabit switch, again all by wires, no wireless involved.

Any ideas? TIA!

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14919
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Quattro losing network packets

Post by jasonl » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:29 pm

Did you turn off Windows network throttling and adjust the network card settings?

10 network errors in an hour is very minimal. The overflow is a bigger issue, as that indicates that something prevented the incoming data from being processed fast enough. If you were saving the stream to an actual file (not null) then it might be a failing disk. If you were saving to null, then there might be something running on the PC that is using all available processing power from time to time and causing data to get lost, and you might want to monitor that in task manager.

RogueWarrior
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:36 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Quattro losing network packets

Post by RogueWarrior » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:57 pm

Hello,

So, I followed the steps u advise on the page:
http://info.hdhomerun.com/info/troubles ... acket_loss

Then I followed the steps on my network adapter's site:
https://support.killernetworking.com/kn ... -settings/

The output was going to null and there is NOTHING running on this machine and CPU never spikes.

After the changes, I reran the test - to null and this was the output:
6298840 packets received, 278 overflow errors, 2 network errors, 0 transport errors, 7 sequence errors

Is that good enough or are there other changes I can do??

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14919
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Quattro losing network packets

Post by jasonl » Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:08 pm

Much improved over what it was. Give it a shot and see how it looks.

Post Reply