multiple sources, same channel

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
farmerbob
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:43 am

multiple sources, same channel

Post by farmerbob » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:54 am

I have an HDHR5 id 10755f69 with diagnostics on and live in a translator area , so I have the same set of channels coming from 3 different places on different frequencies. It is advantageous to be able to manually select between them at times because of interference or weather conditions but the app will only auto select the strongest at the time of the scan, Any way to manually add the other channels? In WMC I could add the others but with the end of the epg listings I am considering going Hdhomerun

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8641
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: multiple sources, same channel

Post by signcarver » Tue Dec 31, 2019 11:08 am

SD's software depends entirely on scan results and there can't be more than one channel with the same virtual channel number. Other software can be more manually configured when they don't entirely rely on the scan and the lineup reported by the tuner.

farmerbob
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:43 am

Re: multiple sources, same channel

Post by farmerbob » Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:03 am

Ok, thanks for that, I was afraid that was the answer. I believe my situation is somewhat unique with having so many sources of the same material, I guess I will have to find another product with more flexibility.

Online
NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: multiple sources, same channel

Post by NedS » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:26 am

farmerbob wrote:
Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:03 am
Ok, thanks for that, I was afraid that was the answer. I believe my situation is somewhat unique with having so many sources of the same material, I guess I will have to find another product with more flexibility.
The HDHomeRun tuner itself can manually tune to specific frequencies, regardless of virtual channel number. It's possible to set something up in Kodi or VLC using manually generated URLs, but it might not be pretty.

Post Reply