HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:54 am

Hey everyone! I recently switched to a higher package (was using locals only via clearQAM with the prime) and got a CableCard. Working with Fios a few times to get it setup, activated and validated was a struggle but it seems like it's right on their end. The guy had to "force validate" the card and it does show as validated success. The issue i'm having is accessing any of the channels that are not ClearQAM (the locals). The channel scan shows them, Channels app displays them and shows the right listings but if you click on the channel it will not load. No error, just sits on a black screen with the loading wheel spinning. Same thing using a Roku with Media Player. Channels show up but when you launch one you get an error . Again, no issues with the ClearQam channels loading and playing. Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks! Here's some of the pertinent info:

Hardware Model HDHR3-CC
Firmware Version 20190621
Device ID 1313866E

CableCARD Status
Card Manufacturer Arris/Motorola
Card Authentication success
Card Validation success
3DES encryption supported
OOB Frequency 75.250 MHz
OOB Lock 2.048 Mbps
Signal Strength 99% (-0.8 dBmV)
Signal Quality 100% (37.4 dB)
Channel List cablecard-oob

Sample from Logs (Channel 517 WTTG-DTV loads with no issue) :
20191206-02:23:11 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication success, validation success
20191206-02:24:25 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602)
20191206-02:24:25 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.1.204:52745
20191206-02:24:26 CableCARD: tuner2 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602) access = subscribed
20191206-02:24:45 Tuner: tuner2 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191206-02:25:17 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602)
20191206-02:25:17 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.1.204:52746
20191206-02:25:17 CableCARD: tuner2 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602) access = subscribed
20191206-02:25:24 Tuner: tuner2 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191206-02:25:40 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605)
20191206-02:25:41 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.1.204:52748
20191206-02:25:41 CableCARD: tuner2 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605) access = subscribed
20191206-02:25:47 Tuner: tuner2 http stream ended (global mode change)
20191206-02:53:01 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 1541 CNN (auto:447MHz-118)
20191206-02:53:01 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.1.38:51911
20191206-02:53:02 CableCARD: tuner2 1541 CNN (auto:447MHz-118) access = subscribed
20191206-02:53:11 Tuner: tuner2 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191206-02:53:34 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 517 WTTG-DTV (auto:531MHz-1006)
20191206-02:53:35 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.1.38:51912
20191206-02:53:35 CableCARD: tuner2 517 WTTG-DTV (auto:531MHz-1006) access = subscribed

Online
signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8635
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by signcarver » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:14 am

Forget the roku with "cable" as such will not work for most.

What happens when you use SD's HDHomeRun app or vlc to view a channel (when you try such, and respond that it also doesn't work, specify platform and how devices are connected) as it sounded like you aren't using such... also with SD's app if you have the DVR it can take up to 2 hours to sync with the new channel list (the app pulls the list from the tuner, but tries to play through the dvr which has no immediate knowledge of such channel-- not sure how channels does this as i can't use such with drm on all my channels).

nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:29 am

I'll try that and report back, thanks.. I'm lucky with Fios in that only HBO and Fox networks are DRM, most every thing else is not. I just use the direct apps for the stuff in that case (namely BIG10, FS1). No DVR.

As for the Roku, it is clunky for sure, but it's exhibiting the same symptoms. Launches the clearqam fine, will not launch anything else.

nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Fri Dec 06, 2019 5:49 pm

Tried it using the HDHR software and had the same issues. Would not load NFL/ESPN etc. just the locals. Here's the log:

20191207-00:44:51 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 510 WBFF-DTV (auto:519MHz-4805)
20191207-00:44:51 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49371
20191207-00:44:51 CableCARD: tuner0 510 WBFF-DTV (auto:519MHz-4805) access = subscribed
20191207-00:45:33 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191207-00:45:33 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605)
20191207-00:45:33 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49380
20191207-00:45:33 CableCARD: tuner0 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605) access = subscribed
20191207-00:45:43 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191207-00:45:43 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605)
20191207-00:45:43 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49383
20191207-00:45:43 CableCARD: tuner0 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605) access = subscribed
20191207-00:45:53 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191207-00:45:53 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605)
20191207-00:45:53 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49386
20191207-00:45:53 CableCARD: tuner0 588 NFL Network HD (auto:201MHz-605) access = subscribed
20191207-00:45:56 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191207-00:45:56 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 514 CW WNUV-DTV (auto:495MHz-4804)
20191207-00:45:57 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49387
20191207-00:45:57 CableCARD: tuner0 514 CW WNUV-DTV (auto:495MHz-4804) access = subscribed
20191207-00:46:10 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191207-00:46:10 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602)
20191207-00:46:11 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49388
20191207-00:46:11 CableCARD: tuner0 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602) access = subscribed
20191207-00:46:20 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191207-00:46:20 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602)
20191207-00:46:21 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.37:49397
20191207-00:46:21 CableCARD: tuner0 570 ESPN HD (auto:225MHz-602) access = subscribed
20191207-00:46:26 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by NedS » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:05 pm

Can I get you to enable tuner diagnostics and do another scan? https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... iagnostics

nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:55 pm

Ok, done. Thank you.

kwheat2064
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:06 am

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by kwheat2064 » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:07 am

I'm having the same issues as well. Frontier FIOS. I also enabled the diagnostics on my device. Frontier has also scheduled a tech to come manually reprogram the M-CARD

nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:26 am

Is weird. I can use the Fios app and access all the channels without any issues.

kwheat2064
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:06 am

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by kwheat2064 » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:30 am

nasdamus wrote:
Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:26 am
Is weird. I can use the Fios app and access all the channels without any issues.
I agree and can browse channels through the app as well (watch, tune, etc.). The TVEverywhere Feeds all work fine. As far as the Cable card goes, the channel list being provided to me is "Channel List cablecard-oob". The techs on the phone said that as far as they were aware once the card was paired and successfully activated, it should pull the channels down.

nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:39 pm

I spent some time on the phone with Fios network support and they reactivated and validated the CableCard and everything is gtg now. They mentioned the CableCard order wasn’t properly closed out and it was causing an issue as well. Thanks!

kwheat2064
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:06 am

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by kwheat2064 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:18 am

nasdamus wrote:
Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:39 pm
I spent some time on the phone with Fios network support and they reactivated and validated the CableCard and everything is gtg now. They mentioned the CableCard order wasn’t properly closed out and it was causing an issue as well. Thanks!
Was there anything specific they said was wrong with the card or was it an account thing? My card has been paired twice now.

nasdamus
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by nasdamus » Sun Dec 08, 2019 6:12 am

She made it seem like it was an account thing but I believe that it wasn’t setup properly. The first tech did it all on the phone when it wasn’t coming back as validated. He said he force validated it as there were 28 people in the queue for network tech support. This time she waited for them and they did everything.

kwheat2064
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:06 am

Re: HDHR Prime w/ Fios CableCard - Only clearQAM

Post by kwheat2064 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 6:49 am

nasdamus wrote:
Sun Dec 08, 2019 6:12 am
She made it seem like it was an account thing but I believe that it wasn’t setup properly. The first tech did it all on the phone when it wasn’t coming back as validated. He said he force validated it as there were 28 people in the queue for network tech support. This time she waited for them and they did everything.
Appreciate the reply, thanks!

Post Reply