two primes different number of channels

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
frazzxr
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:50 am

two primes different number of channels

Post by frazzxr » Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:02 pm

Hi,
I have two hdhomerun primes (where is the six tuner!!). Anyways, I have them both with Verizon cable cards...both cards activated and paired.

When channels are scanned, there are a different number of channels on each. One of them has two more channels.. I have run scans one right after the other to make sure it accounts for channel adds and drops by Verizon.

I am not sure what the channel difference is, I have not gone through the list yet, but has anyone seen this before?

Both are on the latest firmware 20190621

On a side note, if you can answer an additional question: How often (if at all) does the hdhomerun prime re-scan? Or is this always a manual process?

Thanks,
frazzxr

leerandall
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by leerandall » Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:37 pm

Yes. I have Spectrum/Bright House, and one of my Primes sees 401 channels and the other Prime sees 402. For me, the missing channel is inconsequential as it's not one that I would normally watch.

rpcameron
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by rpcameron » Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:16 pm

Ha! You're both lucky. I have 3 different channel counts. The first has 317 (or 318, depends on the day), but that one is expected to be less because its tuning adapter is disconnected. The other two have 342 and 421, both while connected to the tuning adapter. The problem is because the channel scan that the tuner does has a short (and unmodifiable) time-out when scanning for channels.

Usually there is no problem when trying to manually tune, even if the lineup does not show the channel. But, if you use software that relies upon the tuner's lineup, then the tuner will not be used for the channels if it does not have it in its own lineup.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8346
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by signcarver » Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:18 pm

Such would be very rare on verizon or comcast, unlike companies that heavily rely on SDV and use of a tuning adapter.

But there are a few things that can do such when no ta is involved. First is the process of loading the channels/subscription onto your card in the old days this was quite a common occurrence with Motorola cards though it can happen with cisco as well (it wasn't until a few years ago that I would have even thought it possible on cisco as they were generally more account based and what was on your account should've been provisioned for all devices).

2nd is the cablecard map itself... typically these are sent in pieces and it isn't unusual for a card to miss a piece but generally it is expected to eventually get all the pieces correctly.

What I would do is go to the lineup page of each tuner and figure out what channels are missing then add ?show=all to the end (it would look like 192.168.0.1/lineup.html?show=all ) and see if the missing channels are struck through as this would either indicate it either not properly loaded to the card as subscribed or that for some reason couldn't tune the channel at the time of the scan.

One reason it might not have tuned was if it were a drm channel and the card not validated (verizon puts drm on the national "fox" channels)... this probably should have been step one to ensure the card is properly paired.

Assuming not a drm issue, What i would then do is copy the link from channel number of the card that has the channel (or any channel from the non working card) and open a network stream in vlc and pasting it in the box and changing the ip to that of the one that didn't detect it (or changing the virtual channel number after the v to that which is missing) and see if it comes in (i would also check signal levels if it does). If it doesn't come in check the tuner's log and look for errors.

frazzxr
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:50 am

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by frazzxr » Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:15 pm

Thank you everyone for your replies.

Ken.F
Posts: 2137
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by Ken.F » Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:38 pm

I have two Primes on Verizon FiOS. One of them gets channel 835 (NFL Red Zone HD) and the other doesn't. I never watch that channel so I never complained about it.

frazzxr
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:50 am

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by frazzxr » Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:45 pm

Not so much a complaint as a question of if I had a hardware issue...

Ken.F
Posts: 2137
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by Ken.F » Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:50 pm

frazzxr wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:45 pm
Not so much a complaint as a question of if I had a hardware issue...
I'm not sure if that was directed at me or not but I wasn't accusing you of complaining. I didn't complain to Verizon about my issue because I didn't want them to make things worse trying to fix a channel I never watch.

frazzxr
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:50 am

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by frazzxr » Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:53 pm

No worries. I just meant I wasn't complaining to the vendor :)

Ken.F
Posts: 2137
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: two primes different number of channels

Post by Ken.F » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:15 pm

frazzxr wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:53 pm
No worries. I just meant I wasn't complaining to the vendor :)
OK, thanks. I was worried that I chose my words poorly. That happens far too often.

Post Reply