new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
billmich
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:33 am

new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by billmich » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:34 am

Comcast in Michigan added 3 new HD channels to their lineup, however, they don't show up in my cable card and its devices (and yes I did a re-scan)

250 FS2
1329 Pac-12
476 Sec alternate

where do I go to shake the tree and alert them, or is there a special setting i need to utilize on my end?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14233
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by jasonl » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:14 pm

Please enable the sending of diagnostic data, reboot the HDHomeRun, wait 2 minutes, and run a channel scan (see https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... iagnostics) then reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs.

billmich
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:33 am

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by billmich » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:09 am

I have been told that these 3 new channels are "IP chgannels" and that cable cards dont pick up these type of channels?

Is this true? - they do take much longer to tune in that other channels via my cable box

billmich
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:33 am

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by billmich » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:38 am

i enabled the diagnostic, ran the rescan and my device ID : 131D232D

billmich
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:33 am

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by billmich » Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:07 am

Here is a reply from a Comcast expert via private messaging from the Xfinity forums:



Only select networks are IP only. Here is the list:



FOX Sports 2
FOX Deportes HD
Hallmark Drama SD and HD
i24NEWS HD
Newsmax TV HD
Pac-12 National HD
Pac-12 Regional HD
QVC2 HD and SD
QVC3 HD and SD
SEC Overflow HD
Z Living HD

IP channels are only available on X1 boxes-- they are not typically picked up from cable card devices.



Data usage for streaming on X1 equipment is noted by an "internet" or "globe" indicator on the content. I have never seen this on a channel we provide since it is technically a cable channel.
Last edited by billmich on Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14233
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by jasonl » Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:37 pm

Yeah if they're IP only you're not going to get them. They aren't even in the channel lineup coming from the CableCARD.

billmich
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:33 am

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by billmich » Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:13 pm

did you see that in the diagnostic log?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14233
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by jasonl » Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:43 pm

Yes. When the scan is run, the device literally goes through every channel in the list from the CableCARD and tunes it to see what happens. Those channels were not even attempted, it just went from 249 to 251, and so on, which means they aren't in the lineup, and that's normal for IP-only channels.

billmich
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:33 am

Re: new channels not showing up on my cable card devices

Post by billmich » Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:46 pm

so now i know definitively.

Thank you for your assistance

Post Reply