Powerline adapter for HDHR5-4US?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
chuckles67
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:38 am

Powerline adapter for HDHR5-4US?

Post by chuckles67 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:15 pm

Looking at powerline adapters to connect the HDHR5-4US through home electrical wiring to my router: will AV500 be sufficient with 100Mbps ethernet in the HDHR5-4US, or must go for AV1000-AV2000? Or is a powerline adapter a bad idea altogether?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Powerline adapter for HDHR5-4US?

Post by NedS » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:23 am

The AV500 should work very well.

chuckles67
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Powerline adapter for HDHR5-4US?

Post by chuckles67 » Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:22 pm

Unfortunately my house electrical wiring doesn't work well with powerline adapters (tried two different brands, and seeing variable results between 2 and 60 Mbps measured using iPerf3, despite both adapters being AV2000 so capable of up to 1800Mbps). I'm trying WiFi media bridge instead with 120Mbps which works okay so far.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Powerline adapter for HDHR5-4US?

Post by NedS » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:42 am

That's too bad. Powerline adapters are great when they work, but some older homes and certain situations lead to wiring that they don't work well with. I normally like to urge people towards wired options, but a good wifi bridge with a good router, in an area without a lot of overlapping home networks, can often work just as well.

chuckles67
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Powerline adapter for HDHR5-4US?

Post by chuckles67 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:10 pm

After ten days with a good wifi solution, I've got to do a wired connection: there are too many data breaks in the recorded transport streams with the wifi media bridge compared to my earlier wired setup in a different location.

UPDATE: data breaks happening only with EyeTV recordings about 200-300 breaks per hour; HDHomeRun DVR and Plex DVR recordings both work fine. All three recording applications (1x Mac Mini; 1x WD EX2 Ultra NAS) are connected using LAN cables to the main gigabit switch connected to main router. The HDHomeRun is connected through LAN to a second router in media bridge mode. The two routers are connected by a good WiFi signal.

Complete mystery why only EyeTV recordings are having 200-300 data breaks per hour, but running a 100 foot LAN cable from the main gigabit switch directly to the HDHomeRun ethernet fixes the EyeTV recording problem.

Post Reply