HD homerun prime - network light red

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
redrum448

HD homerun prime - network light red

Post by redrum448 » Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:56 am

Is there any way to fix a (possible) dead NIC in a HD homerun prime? Does Silicondust repair these?

As of last week mine has a red light and no network connection (I have tried multiple ports on multiple switches with multiple network cables- I am a network engineer as well).

Everything else seems to be fine.

thanks in advance!

DRMsucks

Re: HD homerun prime - network light red

Post by DRMsucks » Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:30 am

redrum448 wrote:
Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:56 am
Is there any way to fix a (possible) dead NIC in a HD homerun prime? Does Silicondust repair these?

As of last week mine has a red light and no network connection (I have tried multiple ports on multiple switches with multiple network cables- I am a network engineer as well).

Everything else seems to be fine.

thanks in advance!
Just a couple of more steps to add to your troubleshooting protocol.

1. Try connecting the other end of your cable to desktop switch with nothing else on it. See if you get a green link light.

2. Pull all the plugs on your Prime box and leave it for 20 minutes to ensure the power has drained. Then plug it back in and see what you get.

My thought with 1 is there may be a DHCP issue. All the desktop switch will do is eliminate the hardware issue.

My thought with 2 is the basic Windows mentality. When it doubt, do a hard reset/reboot.

I hope something comes out of it. Good luck!

redrum448

Post by redrum448 » Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:57 pm

So it seems the device wont auto negotiate speeds anymore. I have to set it to 10meg or 100meg but if plugged into a gig switch it wont drop its speed to 100 it will just flash a red light.

Owell i just forced that port to 100meg and Im good to go...... (thank god!)

signcarver
Expert
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F