Comcast missing channel

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
gwtx
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:18 am
Device ID: 1313798B

Comcast missing channel

Post by gwtx » Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:01 pm

Device ID 1313798B

Comcast added some new channels, but a channel scan does not pick up the channel name on the devices channel line up list after a rescan. Channel 148/1623 shows a channel there, and Homerun View can tune it but no name or scheduling information

I enabled diagnostic info, did a channel scan, and used View to tune the channel just now, then disabled the info, can someone at SD tell me whats wrong ?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by signcarver » Sun Jun 30, 2019 10:19 pm

You need to wait for comcast to update the table with a name to get guide info.

It will need to not be disabled for SD to look at things

gwtx
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:18 am
Device ID: 1313798B

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by gwtx » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:33 pm

Sound like comcast, channel added 2 weeks ago, and notice of channel add has been out for over a month

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3947
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by gtb » Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:05 am

gwtx wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:33 pm
Sound like comcast, channel added 2 weeks ago, and notice of channel add has been out for over a month
What is the channel name, and what date did Comcast announce availability for (Comcast has a history of saying things like "Will be available [date]", and until that date arrives the channel is in various stages of getting set up (they assign the freq/prog and get it pushed to the maps, but nothing is really there, and the names can change, until the [date])).

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13842
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by jasonl » Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:30 pm

Sometimes rebooting the device can help as well, if you haven't already done that.

gwtx
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:18 am
Device ID: 1313798B

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by gwtx » Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:44 pm

Their mailer from early June states
Effective June 18, 2019, Afro channel will be available on our Preferred tier
I have scanned twice, last time with diagnostics on, and rebooted just now, both channels still blank on guidename

gwtx
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:18 am
Device ID: 1313798B

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by gwtx » Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:47 pm

And what in lineup json for 148

Code: Select all

{"GuideNumber":"147","GuideName":"GAC","VideoCodec":"MPEG2","AudioCodec":"AC3","URL":"http://192.168.0.102:5004/auto/v147"},{"GuideNumber":"148","GuideName":"","VideoCodec":"MPEG2","AudioCodec":"AC3","URL":"http://192.168.0.102:5004/auto/v148"},{"GuideNumber":"149","GuideName":"MPLEX","VideoCodec":"MPEG2","AudioCodec":"AC3","DRM":1,"URL":"http://192.168.0.102:5004

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3947
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by gtb » Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:56 pm

gwtx wrote:
Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:44 pm
Their mailer from early June states
Effective June 18, 2019, Afro channel will be available on our Preferred tier
Did the words on the announcement for that channel also include the words (or equivalent) ".... will be available in HD IP. Only customers with compatible equipment will be able to view this channel"?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13842
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by jasonl » Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:55 pm

A blank channel name would indicate that either there's no entry or a blank entry for that channel in the network text table coming from the cable provider. Until they add the name we won't be able to assign a guide listing for it. For what it's worth, I don't even see a listing for channel 148 on the Comcast lineup for the city I think you're in (I won't share it in case you don't want it to be known), so who knows what's really going on. Comcast data is usually accurate on Gracenote since I think Comcast uses Gracenote data for their own boxes.

gwtx
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:18 am
Device ID: 1313798B

Re: Comcast missing channel

Post by gwtx » Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:49 am

Channel 148 corrected itself over the weekend, but something weirder popped up, so I had it rescan the channels

Channel names are correct on lineup.html, but in HomeRun VIEW it not
Channel 22 shows a channel name of HGTV, and a logo/schedule for ESPN
Channel 25 shows a channel name of MTV, and a logo/schedule for Weather channel
Channel 26 shows a channel name of AETV, and a logo/schedule for TBS

These seem to be it

Post Reply