Where is hdhomerun recording?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
paradoxgrowth
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:34 am

Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by paradoxgrowth » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:07 am

The weirdest thing is happening! When I go into the Recorded section of the HDHomeRun app I see a bunch of shows it has recorded. Some of those shows I have no idea where it recorded them! I look in the NAS (where they should be recorded) and I can't find them. They actually play so I know they exist somewhere. Where are these Ghost shows? Is there a way to see where they live?

Backstory: I just got my HDHomeRun connect DUO and initially set it up on my Qnap NAS through a windows VM using the HDHomeRun set up app. I admit I changed the recording path 3 times before finally deciding on a place. Right now it is pointing to RecordPath=/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Boy-5/Downloads/NewDownloads/@DVR@/DVR/. I know that you make a share on Qnap called HDHomeRun but Qnap lets you store shares anywhere you want (i.e. you don't have to only make shares in the root, it can be stored in a subfolder). Therefore the share HDHomeRun is stored in /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Boy-05/Downloads/NewDownloads/@DVR@/DVR/. Regardless I see some new recordings are successfully being stored there. In fact, I think all new recordings are stored there, however the log shows calls from calls from both IP address on the NAS. Maybe changing the file location has made multiple HDHomeRun software installations on the NAS? (obviously I have no idea what I am talking about, I have no idea how this thing works). Could that explain why shows exist in areas I have no idea? I have checked old areas and there is nothing there!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by NedS » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:11 am

Can you tell me the Device ID printed on the bottom of your HDHomeRun unit?

paradoxgrowth
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:34 am

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by paradoxgrowth » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:21 am

Hi Neds,

It is 10633459. Thanks for your help!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by NedS » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:48 am

You have another copy of the DVR software running on a Mac computer. You can uninstall that copy by doing the following: https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/dvr:mac#uninstalling

paradoxgrowth
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:34 am

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by paradoxgrowth » Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:18 pm

I’m a little confused, I didn’t mention recording on a Mac, just a NAS.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13842
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by jasonl » Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:40 pm

The other recordings you're seeing are the ones that have been made on the Mac.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by NedS » Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:46 pm

paradoxgrowth wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:18 pm
I’m a little confused, I didn’t mention recording on a Mac, just a NAS.
You didn't, but your HDHomeRun did :)

Any copy of our DVR software on your network will contact our servers using the device ID of the HDHomeRun Tuner, and download guide data and upcoming timers/tasks for recordings. For the Device ID you gave me, I see a NAS and a Mac computer checking into the server (don't worry, we can't see any details about the Mac, nor do any other activities of the Mac get shared with our server). The Mac DVR software might have gotten installed when the Mac viewing app got installed, because the recording option is another checkmark in the installer.

paradoxgrowth
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:34 am

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by paradoxgrowth » Sun Jun 23, 2019 7:08 pm

Thanks so much, that was very helpful! I was able to get the DVR software uninstalled from my Mac. I no longer see the ghost recordings, only what is on my NAS. Wonder why this information would not be customer facing. I am sure I could have figured this out had I known.

Another question, I notice redundancy in the list of recordings in the recordings section of the HDHomeRun software. Meaning one recording is listed twice. Does this mean there are redundant DVRs? The log file reveals several ip addresses some listed twice.

20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.0.1
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.5.1
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.3.1
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.0.100
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.0.1
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.5.1
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.3.1
20190623-20:12:21 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.0.100

I just don't want this to happen:
20190623-12:59:31 Recording: no tuners available to record CBS News Sunday Morning 20190623 [20190623-1300]
When it happened there was no conflicts, this was the only show to record. Regardless of the previous, it has the highest priority .

Online
signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Where is hdhomerun recording?

Post by signcarver » Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:32 am

Prior to recent releases in the last few weeks, (latest and the beta or 2 before that) the engine had no concept of other engines and they would both record using different tuners. If both are on latest just one will record (i believe it was said usually the one with the biggest drive/more space)

If both were up, both should have been seen at my.hdhomerun.com unless for some reason there was no StorageID or if for some reason you had the same StorageID on each. I would not have expected a mac not to have a StorageID but that is quite common with a NAS as often it can't write to the hdhomerun.conf file.

The logs from your tuners would have reported streaming to another device. On recent record engines, their log would have reported the other but that may also require the other have a StorageID and/or be a recent engine.

The latest record engine also allows to set the maximum number of streams and can be set to 0 to not record.

Post Reply