Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
handyd
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:38 am
Device ID: 131092F3, 13122223, 13136631

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by handyd » Thu May 02, 2019 9:44 am

All these channels have been disabled and come back enabled.

handyd
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:38 am
Device ID: 131092F3, 13122223, 13136631

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by handyd » Sat May 04, 2019 6:03 am

5/4/2019 13122223 17

Billi23
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by Billi23 » Sun May 05, 2019 10:52 am

Happening to my Prime also running 20190417 firmware. Channel 17 just disappeared and 18 came back enabled.
5/5/2019 1323AADB 18

rpcameron
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by rpcameron » Sun May 05, 2019 11:20 am

Billi23 wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 10:52 am
Happening to my Prime also running 20190417 firmware. Channel 17 just disappeared and 18 came back enabled.
5/5/2019 1323AADB 18
This is the thread for the Prime autodiscovery problems. I've had one reenable after the update to the latest stable firmware, and I think I have had a couple more in the past week. I was just about to double later this afternoon.

Billi23
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by Billi23 » Sun May 05, 2019 1:15 pm

Didn't want to add to your thread in case SD split my reply off stating that you use a TA and I don't.

The OP in this threads first post says he's got three Prime's exhibiting the issue.

I save the xml output of http://x.x.x.x/lineup.xml?show=all to a different file each day and compare it with the previous file using Notepad++ with the Compare plugin.

When the Prime times out on a channel during a background scan it marks that channel as unsubscribed <Subscribed>0</Subscribed> (even though I'm subscribed to it and can still tune and watch it).

When it's able to tune that channel again at some future date it will mark it as subscribed and enabled, even though I had previously disabled it. If you then disable that channel <Enabled>0</Enabled> again, the cycle repeats.

What's the point of disabling channels if the Prime won't honor it?

rpcameron
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by rpcameron » Sun May 05, 2019 1:50 pm

Billi23 wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 1:15 pm
Didn't want to add to your thread in case SD split my reply off stating that you use a TA and I don't.

The OP in this threads first post says he's got three Prime's exhibiting the issue.

I save the xml output of http://x.x.x.x/lineup.xml?show=all to a different file each day and compare it with the previous file using Notepad++ with the Compare plugin.

When the Prime times out on a channel during a background scan it marks that channel as unsubscribed <Subscribed>0</Subscribed> (even though I'm subscribed to it and can still tune and watch it).

When it's able to tune that channel again at some future date it will mark it as subscribed and enabled, even though I had previously disabled it. If you then disable that channel <Enabled>0</Enabled> again, the cycle repeats.

What's the point of disabling channels if the Prime won't honor it?
The beta released (just prior to this latest stable) was supposed to fix it, and then been incorporated into this stable release. The problem is that it doesn't fix the problem. Every week or so I'm checking my listings pages to fix these new channels.

Billi23
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by Billi23 » Sun May 05, 2019 3:14 pm

Just noticed something unusual. Do others see this?

Three channels I have this issue with the most are 17, 18 and 20.

Comcast duplicates these channels in my lineup at the 1000 channels range.
17 and 1070 are the same 219MHz, program 6
18 and 1071 are the same 219MHz, program 7
20 and 1073 are the same 219MHz, program 11

I have disabled all of these, but the ones that keep disappearing and reappearing as enabled are 17, 18 and 20.
1070, 1071 and 1073 have always stayed subscribed and disabled.

rpcameron
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by rpcameron » Sun May 05, 2019 4:16 pm

Billi23 wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 3:14 pm
Just noticed something unusual. Do others see this?

Three channels I have this issue with the most are 17, 18 and 20.

Comcast duplicates these channels in my lineup at the 1000 channels range.
17 and 1070 are the same 219MHz, program 6
18 and 1071 are the same 219MHz, program 7
20 and 1073 are the same 219MHz, program 11

I have disabled all of these, but the ones that keep disappearing and reappearing as enabled are 17, 18 and 20.
1070, 1071 and 1073 have always stayed subscribed and disabled.
While most of the channels that disappear and reappear seem to repeat, my channels aren't those that are shared numbers.

Instead of autodiscovery, how about an adjustable timeout value for channel scans. Any one at SiliconDust looking at other ways to address the root of this issue?

Billi23
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by Billi23 » Sun May 05, 2019 6:08 pm

Here's my vote/request.

If SD insists on keeping the background scans, what would then work is if a channel is already in the lineup as "subscribed" (whether favorite, enabled or disabled) and a background scan cannot see it (don't know what that criteria is), it just leaves it alone and only adds new channels it finds.

I know OTA viewers would disagree, but I'm talking about cable and the Prime 3/6.

I can fully understand a user initiated manual scan acting differently, and if the above is implemented and results in channels kept in the lineup one no longer subscribes to (for whatever reason), the user could do a manual scan to rectify that.

rpcameron
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by rpcameron » Sun May 05, 2019 7:34 pm

Billi23 wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:08 pm
Here's my vote/request.

If SD insists on keeping the background scans, what would then work is if a channel is already in the lineup as "subscribed" (whether favorite, enabled or disabled) and a background scan cannot see it (don't know what that criteria is), it just leaves it alone and only adds new channels it finds.

I know OTA viewers would disagree, but I'm talking about cable and the Prime 3/6.

I can fully understand a user initiated manual scan acting differently, and if the above is implemented and results in channels kept in the lineup one no longer subscribes to (for whatever reason), the user could do a manual scan to rectify that.
I wholeheartedly agree with this sentiment. An uninitiated scan should never remove anything, only add things.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8129
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by signcarver » Sun May 05, 2019 7:59 pm

rpcameron wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 4:16 pm
Instead of autodiscovery, how about an adjustable timeout value for channel scans. Any one at SiliconDust looking at other ways to address the root of this issue?
I agree... ever since moving to an RFoG area (and there are known issues with TAs and RFoG that they did not want to even allow TAs on RFoG a couple of years ago) my scans have been missing 120+ channels (though to be fair, these are 60-70 channels that are repeated as I only get "HD" channels unless HD is not available so most have duplicate numbers that also don't pull in).

If I tune them in WMC (using another prime, as I usually have 3 at any one location, which 90% of the time will get it on the first attempt in WMC, though may require a second, but on those I get a timeout error not a SDV error, only occasionally I need more and when I get the SDV error, that usually means I have to reboot the TAs, or a STB) it will get added to the scan for the prime being scanned but then others are removed. It's getting to the point I want to be able to enable any non-subscribed channels (by the way, usually my issues are when temps reach 88°F+ which is quite often in phoenix, during the winter I didn't have as much trouble).

Its getting to the point that when my parents move this month, I will probably take them off of WMC and over to T* rather than wait for DRM recording (all non-local channels are DRM here... I was considering moving them to PTV) and fixes to such scan requirements as they do wish to replace their aging win 7 machine and extenders.

handyd
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:38 am
Device ID: 131092F3, 13122223, 13136631

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by handyd » Mon May 06, 2019 6:18 am

05/6/2019 131092F3 16

Billi23
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by Billi23 » Fri May 10, 2019 7:18 pm

Should I start my own thread?

Happening to my Prime also running 20190417 firmware. Channel 18 (was subscribed and disabled) just disappeared, now <unsubscribed> and 17 (previously subscribed and disabled) came back as enabled.
5/10/2019 1323AADB 17

Someone at SD just isn't understanding this issue, is unable to duplicate it, or is just ignoring it.

What is the point of disabling channels if the Prime doesn't honor it?

I have heard that OTA units and Prime units using TA adapters all act differently. What does it matter?

If a user decides to ignore (disable) channels, they should stay disabled. Period.

That's great if your "auto-discovery" finds channels we didn't know we had and offers to enable them for us, but come on...

Billi23
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by Billi23 » Mon May 13, 2019 8:54 pm

Decided to try another route a couple days ago and enabled all of my channels causing issues previously (14-20).

Today, one of those channels (18 <subscribed> and <enabled>) disappeared (now <unsubscribed>) and another channel (20 that was previously <unsubscribed> and <disabled>) became <subscribed> and <enabled>.

Not sure what the new firmware is doing, but it's not fixing the problem we're experiencing.

handyd
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:38 am
Device ID: 131092F3, 13122223, 13136631

Re: Turn off auto discovery of new channels - handyd

Post by handyd » Tue May 14, 2019 5:14 am

5/13/2019 13122223 14

Post Reply