HD Homerun and Antenna

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Winterlight

HD Homerun and Antenna

Postby Winterlight » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:17 pm

I have a HDHomeRun DRI Tuner with a cable card. I have been using it since 2012 and I do have subscription.

Now I want to add an antenna setup.. not to replace my existing HDhomerun tuner but to a new additional setup. I have a quality antenna capable of 4K broadcasts so what would I use for recording from the antenna... a separate HDhomerun tuner?.... which one and how would this work? Thanks.

As a separate issue; I have discovered if my VPN is engaged my HDhomerun app can not find the turner.

NoReDist
Device ID: FFFFFFFF

Re: HD Homerun and Antenna

Postby NoReDist » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:39 pm

Yes, you would need an another HDHomerun; one of the US Antenna models (HDHR4-2us, HDHR5-2us or 4-us) that has no CableCARD slot.

If you have the subscription (for DVR) already, you can use that to record from either HDHomerun.
If you just meant that you have a cable-provider subscription, you could subscribe to SiliconDust's DVR (for guide-data mainly; to schedule recordings) or use other 3rd-party recording software (i.e. Plex, emby, Channels, etc... see the 3rd-party forum)

If you used SD's pvr software, you would have one interface to perform scheduling of either cable or antenna HDHR. It would record across the network onto whatever you configured as your storage. The other 3rd-p apps would schedule and utilize slightly differently.
Obviously there won't be any 4k broadcasts for awhile, so you won't see any of those.

Winterlight

Postby Winterlight » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:12 pm

<<If you have the subscription (for DVR) already, you can use that to record from either HDHomerun.