CONNECT: Not all channels showing

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
copekyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:41 pm

CONNECT: Not all channels showing

Postby copekyle » Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:58 pm

Hello-
I am setting up my CONNECT for the first time today and have run into a problem with one of my channels not showing. This is the main channel for my area (small town) and so it is make or break for this device. I have enabled diagnostics on my device and the id is 104E3863. Details for the problem below:

I am using this antenna: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B076B ... UTF8&psc=1

I can plug the antenna into a TV tuner and get the channel in question just fine. After turning on diagnostics, I ran a scan with the antenna's amplifier unplugged and then ran a scan with the amp plugged in. It is currently plugged in.

The channel I am looking for is CH14.1 - https://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=KSVT
It is at UHF 470-476.

The key note to mention is that this transmitter is physically mounted on the same tower as channels 11.1, 11.2 and 11.3. These channels work perfectly. They are here : https://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=KMVT

Also on the same tower is: https://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=KSAW-LD

So it seems that there is no reason I should not be receiving this channel outside of an issue with the CONNECT. Please advise.

Thanks

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7862
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: CONNECT: Not all channels showing

Postby signcarver » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:26 pm

What are the signal levels like? (suggest using config gui to see them)

The two stations in question are vastly different in power levels and contour.

copekyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:41 pm

Re: CONNECT: Not all channels showing

Postby copekyle » Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:12 pm

Signal level without antenna amplifier is 87% and 100% with amplifier.

copekyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:41 pm

Re: CONNECT: Not all channels showing

Postby copekyle » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:06 pm

Interestingly, I've been dealing with this for about a week now. After posting last night, went back to my channel scan and 14.1 was on my list. Either it's super coincidence or the SD magicians stopped in this morning and fixed my box. Time will tell.

ebo
Posts: 521
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm
Device ID: 1016F746, 101C8CF9, 1041F134, 10532394

Re: CONNECT: Not all channels showing

Postby ebo » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:03 pm

I get a kick out of all the fake claims in antenna ads. This flat panel antenna is so good that it receives not only the broadcast networks but also ESPN! In 4K! At up to 120 miles! :lol:


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests