Prime 6 Use without Cablecard?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
jwfwuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:51 am

Prime 6 Use without Cablecard?

Postby jwfwuy » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 am

I just have basic cable and do not use a cable card. Can I use the Prime 6?

The comparison chart seems to say no, but I currently use a Prime without cable card and it works fine.

Thanks

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3683
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Prime 6 Use without Cablecard?

Postby gtb » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:20 am

I just have basic cable and do not use a cable card. Can I use the Prime 6?
Until it ships and SD publishes an API guide all one has is guesses, but there is no indication that if you are subscribing to basic TV service today with a provider using Clear QAM that the new device will not work. However, many providers are moving to encrypt even basic (so the days of not having a CableCARD may be coming to an end), and (at least for use with HDHR DVR) some providers may decide at any time to stop providing the various identifiers that are used for channel mapping (other DVR solutions may do things differently). For that matter, for Clear QAM you have other options.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 14931
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Prime 6 Use without Cablecard?

Postby nickk » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:07 pm

Confirming, PRIME6 supports ClearQAM.

Nick

jwfwuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:51 am

Re: Prime 6 Use without Cablecard?

Postby jwfwuy » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:09 pm

Thanks for your replies.

I will get a Prime 6 when it comes out.

I will have to hope that my cable provider does not encrypt basic cable in the future.


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest