TV Resolution

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Gus
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:55 pm

TV Resolution

Postby Gus » Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:35 pm

I'm watching live TV on my computers with HDHomeRun prime and Kodi.

On one computer all the channels are either MPEG2 720 or MPEG2 1080.

My other computer shows those same channels as MPEG2 SD and has 2" black bars all around the window/TV screen.

Am I missing a setting somewhere or is this a video card issue?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11228
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: TV Resolution

Postby jasonl » Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:41 pm

Sounds like your cable provider maintains separate SD and HD channels, and on one computer you're tuning the HD channels (500s, 700s, 1000s, etc.) and on the other channel you're tuning the SD versions (low channel numbers).

Gus
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:55 pm

Re: TV Resolution

Postby Gus » Sat Jan 06, 2018 5:17 pm

/Slaps forehead with palm of hand/

BINGO! And boy do I feel stupid...

I don't want to tell you how many times I went through Settings to figure out what was wrong. And in all the time I was futzing around with this I never saw that I was simply tuning into the low channel numbers while the other computer was tuning into the 1000 tier of channels.

Thanks for setting me straight jasonl!


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests