Tuner sensitivity - seatv

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
seatv
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:32 pm

Tuner sensitivity - seatv

Postby seatv » Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:58 pm

I am also seeing that HDHR5 tuner is less sensitive than older generation tuners:

HDHR4-2US
DeviceID: 10411B51

Firmware: 20170930

Type: HTTP

Tuners: 2 tuners

Channels: 42 Channels


HDTC-2US
DeviceID: 10514D90

Firmware: 20171208

Type: HTTP

Tuners: 2 tuners

Channels: 42 Channels


HDHR5-4US
DeviceID: 10726119

Firmware: 20171208

Type: HTTP

Tuners: 4 tuners

Channels: 38 Channels

Reported from Diags screen of DVR UI

seatv
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:32 pm

Re: Tuner sensitivity.

Postby seatv » Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:47 pm

I hardly ever watch live TV. I record shows, and watch the following day after it has been processed by MCEBuddy. So, buffer on a secondary device doesn't help.

Diagnostic information from my device has been sent to SD, I hope they take look at them and let me know what is going on.

seatv
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:32 pm

Another Interesting Observation

Postby seatv » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:33 pm

It appears that the Quatro tuners sensitivity (Strength/Qual/Sym) depends on the what all four tuners are doing.

I bought Quatro to record OTA Prime Time Shows... essentially to replace Hopper's PrimeTime Anytime functionality with commercial skipping.

So, typically tuners are tuned to local ABC, CBS, NBC, and FOX.

I have FOX coming to Quatro from two different stations 13.1v and 22.2v.

FOX 22.2 is weaker of the two FOX stations. If 22.2v is in the mix, Quality on ABC, CBS, and NBC all drop below what they are when they are being tuned along with 13.1v :x

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11228
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Tuner sensitivity - seatv

Postby jasonl » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:08 pm

Looks like you're overloading the input on the HDHomeRun. Do you have an amplifier in use? If so, please completely remove it, run another scan, and check to see how it performs without the amp.

seatv
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:32 pm

Re: Tuner sensitivity - seatv

Postby seatv » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:46 pm

I do have an amplifier. I use this product: Elecwave TV Antenna 90 Miles Digital HDTV Antenna https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0732SQ7LB

Not sure how it will work without the power inserter. I am splitting the signal from the antenna into three, going to Connect/Extend/Quatro.

Let me bypass the power inserter and see what happens.

Update:
I did remove the Power Inserter, so the assumption is the built in amplifier of the antenna is now disabled.

Here is the link to what the signal strengths look like with the two scenarios (mp4 files with 12 sec signal behavior).

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share ... futEtAa0sR

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11228
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Tuner sensitivity - seatv

Postby jasonl » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:32 pm

No symbol quality dropouts without the amp, so it does appear to be overloading a bit. You may be able to reconnect the amplifier but add some attenuation to get the benefit of the amp (minimizing loss from the splitter and cable runs) while not causing overload issues.

seatv
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:32 pm

Re: Tuner sensitivity - seatv

Postby seatv » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:43 pm

BTW, without the amp, I lost couple of frequencies altogether. So, for now, the amp is going back in the mix.


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests