ATSC 3.0 Channel Issues in Kalamazoo

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
dantheman
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:44 am
x 2

ATSC 3.0 Channel Issues in Kalamazoo

Post by dantheman »

I am able to pull in a number of ATSC 1.0 stations well with the Connect 4K I just got, and all 5 local ATSC 3.0 stations where I am near Kalamazoo, MI are also detected in a channel scan on digital channel 35, but I could only get one of them to actually play in the HD Homerun client on Fire TV and on my laptop (CBS 3.1), and then only infrequently. There is apparently only guide data for the FOX and ABC ATSC 3.0 stations, which are the two I happen to want disabled since I already get them in ATSC 1.0.

Here are screenshots of the config gui for channel 35 stations:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1maA1iF ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/12_5YOL ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AgqoXq ... sp=sharing

My device ID is 10808F00

Does my reception seem to be too weak to even get one of the NextGen channels reliably or is there maybe something that can be done short of changing my antenna configuration?

Thanks.

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15607
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 30

Re: ATSC 3.0 Channel Issues in Kalamazoo

Post by jasonl »

You might need to change the permissions on your links so that anyone with the link can view. Can't see your screenshots.

dantheman
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:44 am
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0 Channel Issues in Kalamazoo

Post by dantheman »

Thanks for letting me know and sorry about that all.

Now apparently you may just need extreme patience to view the screenshots...

kyl416
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 39
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0 Channel Issues in Kalamazoo

Post by kyl416 »

RF 35 is the Class A WOLP-CD, and Kalamazoo is kind of in the fringes of that signal:
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php ... te=1&map=Y

The QAM 16 PLPs are easier to decode in fringe areas, but the tradeoff is its low bitrate, so most of the stations are in the QAM 256 PLP that gives them more bandwidth, but is harder to receive further out. If reaiming your antenna directly for the tower in Middleville doesn't work, you probably need a better antenna to decode the rest of the stations that are on the QAM 256 PLP.
Last edited by kyl416 on Mon Jul 05, 2021 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dantheman
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:44 am
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0 Channel Issues in Kalamazoo

Post by dantheman »

Thank you!

Post Reply