HDHR3-US

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
dalbert
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:32 am

HDHR3-US

Post by dalbert »

I have an HDHR3-US that I bought quite a while ago and have not used for a long time. It's still there on my network and when I installed the latest HDHR setup software (https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... indows.exe), it ugpraded its firmware from 20150604 to 20200225.

However when I run a channel scan, it doesn't discover any channels (and yes, I have it connected to an antenna). Is the HDHR3-US still supported?
Last edited by dalbert on Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9132
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US not found

Post by signcarver »

Legacy equipment requires modern firmware (at least 20161107 but there were updates for guide as well at 20170815 but might as well ensure latest) as well as a scan done from a windows machine to inform SD of the lineup.

Billi23
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR3-US not found

Post by Billi23 »

Update firmware from Windows, Mac or Linux.
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/update# ... e_updating
See note: If your current version of firmware is before 20170815 then you will first need to update using one of the other methods mentioned below on this page.
Last edited by Billi23 on Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dalbert
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:32 am

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by dalbert »

Wow, thank you for the quick responses!

I changed my original question because after I rebooted the PC, tit found and updated the HDHR3-US. I was then having trouble getting the channel scan to work, but after power cycling the HDHR3, that worked too...so thanks again!

Last question: I can launch VLC from the HDHomerun Setup app and it brings up the channels properly. However the HDHomeRun Viewing App doesn't show Live TV although it sees the HDHR3 under Account Information->Devices Nothing shows under Live, I just get the message "Unable to play channel: Play restart required".

Is there a recommended way to use the HDHR3 other than launching VLC from the setup app? To be usable, there needs to be at least a guide and a way to eliminate channels that get lousy reception.

Thanks again and any advice would be much appreciated!

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9132
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by signcarver »

Make sure you run the scan from setup in the full windows software package (must be windows and must be recent package). Also the device (hdhr) must have internet access to maintain DeviceAuth which is used to obtain the lineup from sd since the legacy device can't maintain its own lineup.

Personally i would never use software that uses the modern method of tuning (i.e. SD's software the past 5 or so years) with legacy equipment and use, generally older, software that was meant for such devices.

dalbert
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:32 am

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by dalbert »

Thank you signcarver, it's disappointing that the HDHR App sees the tuner but simply doesn't work. The tuner itself is clearly working because it will show video on VLC from the Config app and in Windows Media Player. However, they have no guide feature and that makes the user experience pretty bad.

If the HDHR App doesn't work with the HDHR3-US, can you recommend software for W10 that does work and would provide a reasonable semblance of a digital TV experience (particularly the guide)? Better still, is there a way to get the HDHR App working with the HDHR3-US? The SD site says that it should work:
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/using_t ... y_hardware

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9132
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by signcarver »

It can work for live but typically modern software utilizes http streaming rather than the legacy rdp method.

The device has no concept of lineup... SD made a "hack" that it can support discover and lineup which points to SD's servers which returns the lineup using "hdhomerun://" rather than http. But to put any lineup info on that server requires a scan from windows setup and that the device has internet connection as access to that info is controlled by DeviceAuth.

What I suggest doing is going to the discover.json and lineup.json of the device (i believe you have to look at lineup link in discover on legacy) and see where things are broken (don't post DeviceAuth, other than the fact it is there, if you share results of such as that is your key, though typically changes every 8 hours but not sure on legacy). If you do get a lineup then determine channel the frequency points to and check signal. What platform are you trying to run the app on as the app may also need updating and for some reason i thought a recent change in internet security required a beta app on windows 7.

dalbert2
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by dalbert2 »

I am running on Windows 10 Pro and can only find three Silicondust folders:
  • C:\Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomeRun
  • C:\ProgramData\Silicondust\HDHomeRun
  • C:\Users\david\AppData\Roaming\Silicondust
The ProgramData folder contains the file "Digital Antenna.xml" which has a list of all of the channels found during scan
The app link itself is buried under C:\Users\david\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps\XXXXXXXX.HDHomeRunDVR_xxxxxxxxxxx

There were no .json files in any of those folders. Do you know where they might live on a windows system?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9132
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by signcarver »

.json is returned from the device i.e. http://<ip of tuner>/discover.json... a modern device would also have lineup.json but i believe for the legacy devices you need to find such from that discover.json

dalbert2
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by dalbert2 »

Thanks for the patience and sorry for misunderstanding.
Here's the JSON discover output with the personalized stuff XXXXd out:

FriendlyName "HDHomeRun DUAL"
ModelNumber "HDHR3-US"
Legacy 1
FirmwareName "hdhomerun3_atsc"
FirmwareVersion "20200225"
DeviceID "1031XXXX"
DeviceAuth "XXXXXXXXXXXXXX"
TunerCount 2
BaseURL "http://172.30.1.112:80"
LineupURL "http://ipv4-api.hdhomerun.com/api/lineu ... XXXXXXXXXX"

The lineup URL returns null

When I re-run HDHomeRun Setup and select the Digital Antenna tab, it shows the channels already populated. When I select (launch) a channel from the Setup program, it launches VLC pointing at udp://127.0.0.1:5000 so I assume the Setup software is interfacing with the HDHR and making it available on the loopback interface port 5000. Closing the Setup program closes VLC. Windows Media Player also sees the HDHR and displays the full lineup and properly connects to the HDHR and displays video. But Media Player doesn't have a guide which still leaves the HDHR pretty useless.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9132
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by signcarver »

Make sure to post DeviceID so SD can help you... what you don't want to post is DeviceAuth.

dalbert2
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by dalbert2 »

Model: HDHR3-US
Device ID: 10316078
Firmware: 20200225

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1388
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by NedS »

We're looking into it. Might be something on our side that is preventing the server-stored channel list from being updated.

ratovan
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:33 am

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by ratovan »

I think i'm having a similar issue. Scanning with the Windows setup program lists 8 channels, but I can only watch 4. When visiting my.hdhomerun.com it only says 4 channels. Looks like the setup is not updating something somewhere.

Edit to add some more info

{"FriendlyName":"HDHomeRun DUAL",
"ModelNumber":"HDHR3-US",
"Legacy":1,
"FirmwareName":"hdhomerun3_atsc",
"FirmwareVersion":"20200225",
"DeviceID":"103AA0EF",
"DeviceAuth":"xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
"TunerCount":2,
"BaseURL":"http://192.168.xx.xx:80",
"LineupURL":"http://ipv4-api.hdhomerun.com/api/lineu ... xxxxxxxxxx"}

I was using this with PLEX. some OTA channels moved around so I wanted to rescan to pick them up. PLex wouldn't rescan so I deleted it from PLEX and can now no longer add it back. Plex can't find it (or isn't getting the right info from it when it does)

the HDhomerun setup finds the device and scans it, but doesn't seem to update the device properly.
Last edited by ratovan on Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scorpionhl
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 11:44 am

Re: HDHR3-US

Post by scorpionhl »

I wanted to add to this forum, as I'm having the same issue as the OP. HDHR3-US that I haven't used in quite a while. None of the HDHomeRun apps work with it. I ran the windows setup program, ran the scan, checked that it was on the latest firmware (20200225). I could watch live tv just fine through VLC. The my.hdhomerun page shows 0 channels in case that is relevant. The lineup json is null (believe this is expected?). And the discover json is as follows:

{"FriendlyName":"HDHomeRun DUAL","ModelNumber":"HDHR3-US","Legacy":1,"FirmwareName":"hdhomerun3_atsc","FirmwareVersion":"20200225","DeviceID":"103AD8EC","DeviceAuth":"XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX","TunerCount":2,"BaseURL":"http://192.168.0.12:80","LineupURL":"http://ipv4-api.hdhomerun.com/api/lineup?DeviceAuth=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX"}

Post Reply