HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
PPatla512
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:26 pm

HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by PPatla512 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:33 pm

I just upgraded from 20180817 to the 20190417 and rescanned and lost my 18.1 18.2 18.3 18.4 OTA channels. I'm in zip code 78730 and the antennas I connect to are three miles away and I have an external antenna, signal strength is not the issue here.

So I noticed there was a beta 20190603beta1 and updated to that... still no love.

Model: HDTC-2US
Device ID: 1058EA10

I can't get it to downgrade.

Any ideas or help, would be appreciated.

Pat

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8045
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by signcarver » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:38 pm

Based on what you mentioned, I am not sure how you can rule out signal strength as any external antenna for 3 miles is nearly always overkill and most often too hot a signal.

PPatla512
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:26 pm

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by PPatla512 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:13 pm

well... this worked...

I scanned channels for cable (even though it's not hooked up to cable) and got zero channels (to be expected).

Then scanned antenna and all the channels I expected came back.

All is back.. I love this product!

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13627
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by jasonl » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:00 pm

Austin has several stations changing frequencies for the television spectrum repack at the end of next week. KLRU isn't changing, but it shares a broadcast tower with KEYE, which is changing, and needs to replace its antenna and transmission line to do that. There are periods of time where KLRU has to operate at very low power or go off-air completely so the broadcast doesn't cook the crew as they climb to the top of the tower to work on KEYE's antenna. Most of the work happens between 9am and 4pm, so if you happen to scan in the middle of the day like that you might just hit a time when KLRU is down. A bit later the crew gets off the tower and everything goes back to normal.

PPatla512
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:26 pm

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by PPatla512 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:30 am

Wow! Thank you for the great post and reply! Most helpful!

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3900
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by gtb » Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:04 am

jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:00 pm
Austin has several stations changing frequencies for the television spectrum repack at the end of next week.
I know it is not possible to track all the various ongoing repack schedules and activities in detail across the country(*), but another FAQ pointing out the issues, and perhaps a reference to the FCC consumer web site at: https://www.fcc.gov/consumers/guides/co ... um-auction might be useful. If for no other reason one can point to it.


(*) Well, technically, most of the information is at the FCC databases, but except for my enemies (and those that absolutely positively need that information now) I would not send anyone to the FCC websites for detailed information on anything (even renewing my licenses last month felt like going back to the web sites of 1980, and ULS is easy to use compared to some of the other parts of the FCC web presence I use).

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13627
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by jasonl » Sat Jun 15, 2019 4:13 pm

I've had the transition phase assignment open in a spreadsheet since November, and I refer to it at least once every day. Looking forward to 2020 when I can reclaim that taskbar space.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3900
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: HDHomerun Extend firmware lost channels

Post by gtb » Sat Jun 15, 2019 4:24 pm

jasonl wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 4:13 pm
I've had the transition phase assignment open in a spreadsheet since November, and I refer to it at least once every day. Looking forward to 2020 when I can reclaim that taskbar space.
You'll (eventually?) need another spreadsheet regarding the stations combining transmitters for the ATSC 3.0 transitions (which will change (for at least some stations) the frequency, power, coverage, and picture "quality" (aka bitrate for the subchannels)). Good times ahead.....

Post Reply