Prime6

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
NYPlayer
Posts: 2752
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Prime6

Postby NYPlayer » Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:41 pm

The only way I would invest in a Prime 6 if I can record DRM … currently I have 2 Primes and will not need extra tuners if I cannot record DRM.

greynolds
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:33 am

Re: Prime6

Postby greynolds » Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:22 pm

The only way I would invest in a Prime 6 if I can record DRM … currently I have 2 Primes and will not need extra tuners if I cannot record DRM.
If you use Windows Media Center, you can record DRM channels.

NYPlayer
Posts: 2752
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Prime6

Postby NYPlayer » Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:01 pm

The only way I would invest in a Prime 6 if I can record DRM … currently I have 2 Primes and will not need extra tuners if I cannot record DRM.
If you use Windows Media Center, you can record DRM channels.
and … ??? That dinosaur does not work on H264 Comcast with HD graphics .. so it is useless in my household.... nor would I invest on any equipment to run it.

greynolds
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:33 am

Re: Prime6

Postby greynolds » Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:09 pm

The only way I would invest in a Prime 6 if I can record DRM … currently I have 2 Primes and will not need extra tuners if I cannot record DRM.
If you use Windows Media Center, you can record DRM channels.
and … ??? That dinosaur does not work on H264 Comcast with HD graphics .. so it is useless in my household.... nor would I invest on any equipment to run it.
Wow... My apologies for trying to help. Windows Media Center still works quite well for me with our Verizon FIOS service and the EPG123 guide data replacement. Hopefully you'll find something that works for you. I'm quite happy with my dinosaur.

NYPlayer
Posts: 2752
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Prime6

Postby NYPlayer » Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:38 pm



If you use Windows Media Center, you can record DRM channels.
and … ??? That dinosaur does not work on H264 Comcast with HD graphics .. so it is useless in my household.... nor would I invest on any equipment to run it.
Wow... My apologies for trying to help. Windows Media Center still works quite well for me with our Verizon FIOS service and the EPG123 guide data replacement. Hopefully you'll find something that works for you. I'm quite happy with my dinosaur.
I wasn't criticizing you ... I never did like WMC even when it was supported .. instead I used SageTV with a Happauge capture device hooked up to a comcast box.

I still will only buy a Prime 6 if support for DRM comes first.

greynolds
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:33 am

Re: Prime6

Postby greynolds » Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:47 pm



and … ??? That dinosaur does not work on H264 Comcast with HD graphics .. so it is useless in my household.... nor would I invest on any equipment to run it.
Wow... My apologies for trying to help. Windows Media Center still works quite well for me with our Verizon FIOS service and the EPG123 guide data replacement. Hopefully you'll find something that works for you. I'm quite happy with my dinosaur.
I wasn't criticizing you ... I never did like WMC even when it was supported .. instead I used SageTV with a Happauge capture device hooked up to a comcast box.

I still will only buy a Prime 6 if support for DRM comes first.
Well, your post quite frankly came across as pretty obnoxious. Since you're being rather vague about where you're expecting DRM support to be added, I suppose you must mean SiliconDust's DVR software which had promised DRM support quite some time ago when they first launched the Kickstarter. Anyway, good luck.

I'm intending to buy 2 or 3 of these as soon as they're available and use them with a combo of Windows Media Center and JRiver Media Center. WMC may not be the sexiest software out there, but it has been rock solid for me AND has DRM support.

Any way, good luck in your search.

rpcameron
Posts: 595
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Prime6

Postby rpcameron » Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:36 pm

I believe there was a post from SD a bit ago that the new Prime would be released concurrently when SD's DVR software can finally record DRM.

Of course, DRM playback is limited to the same platforms that are supported now.


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests