HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
future vibe
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:23 am

HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby future vibe » Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:29 am

Hi,


My connect box seems to be causing the channels to stutters making them unwatchable. my antenna cable works fine as I can get direct channels through the tv crystal clear.

I run an Apple TV 4 with the channels app.

tmm1
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby tmm1 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:41 am

Is the Apple TV on Wi-Fi? Does your Wi-Fi router support 802.11ac?

future vibe
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:23 am

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby future vibe » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:02 am

Is the Apple TV on Wi-Fi? Does your Wi-Fi router support 802.11ac?
Hi,


Yes it's over wifi. and yes my router supports 802.11ac. could it be the channels app?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 10697
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby jasonl » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:03 pm

Do you see issues on other devices using the HDHomeRun app?

tmm1
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby tmm1 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

You can try the free app InstaTV on the same Apple TV to compare. It's likely not the app- either the network or antenna signal.

future vibe
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:23 am

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby future vibe » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:07 am

Hi,


Ive tried the other apps and I get the same problem with them so ive eliminated that its the channels app itself. and the antenna cable plugged directly in the back of the tv give a great picture with no stuttering. the actual picture is better with this method too. why would this be?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 10697
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby jasonl » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:54 pm

We would like to get some diagnostic data.

If you are using a Windows PC:
  1. Run HDHomeRun Setup, enable “Send diagnostic information...” on the Advanced tab and click Apply. If you do not have an Advanced tab, close HDHomeRun Setup and reopen it.
  2. Unplug the power from the HDHomeRun and plug it back in
  3. After the powerup sequence finishes, click “Scan” on the Digital Antenna tab
  4. Click OK
If you are using a Mac:
  1. Open Terminal and run:

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config ffffffff set /sys/debug debug_enabled=10
  2. Unplug the power from the HDHomeRun and plug it back in
  3. After the powerup sequence finishes, run a channel scan on the HDHomeRun's web page

After completing one of the above, open the HDHomeRun app and watch live TV for at least 10 minutes. Reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs.

future vibe
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:23 am

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby future vibe » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:56 pm

We would like to get some diagnostic data.

If you are using a Windows PC:
  1. Unplug the power from the HDHomeRun and plug it back in
  2. After the powerup sequence finishes, run a channel scan on the HDHomeRun's web page
So forgive me if this is a silly question but whats the link to the webpage that im able to scan my channels?

I opened terminal and inputted that text and hit enter.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 6630
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby signcarver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:37 am

The channel lineup page on the device itself (ip of device). Often one can find their device t my.hdhomerun.com

rpcameron
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: HD HOME RUN CONNECT - Stuttering & choppy

Postby rpcameron » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:44 am

We would like to get some diagnostic data.

If you are using a Windows PC:
  1. Unplug the power from the HDHomeRun and plug it back in
  2. After the powerup sequence finishes, run a channel scan on the HDHomeRun's web page
So forgive me if this is a silly question but whats the link to the webpage that im able to scan my channels?
http://<ip_of_device>/lineup.html


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: greynolds and 2 guests